List of British Monarchs | Kings and Queens of Britain (2024)


Thank you for your feedback

Our editors will review what you’ve submitted and determine whether to revise the article.



While every effort has been made to follow citation style rules, there may be some discrepancies.Please refer to the appropriate style manual or other sources if you have any questions.

Select Citation Style

Written and fact-checked by

The Editors of Encyclopaedia Britannica Encyclopaedia Britannica's editors oversee subject areas in which they have extensive knowledge, whether from years of experience gained by working on that content or via study for an advanced degree. They write new content and verify and edit content received from contributors.

The Editors of Encyclopaedia Britannica

Article History

The United Kingdom is a constitutional monarchy, in which the monarch shares power with a constitutionally organized government. The reigning king or queen is the country’s head of state. All political power rests with the prime minister (the head of government) and the cabinet, and the monarch must act on their advice.

The table provides a chronological list of the sovereigns of Britain.

Sovereigns of Britain
Kings of Wessex (West Saxons)
name dynasty or house reign
1Athelstan was king of Wessex and the first king of all England.
2James VI of Scotland became also James I of England in 1603. Upon accession to the English throne, he styled himself "King of Great Britain" and was so proclaimed. Legally, however, he and his successors held separate English and Scottish kingships until the Act of Union of 1707, when the two kingdoms were united as the Kingdom of Great Britain.
3The United Kingdom was formed on January 1, 1801, with the union of Great Britain and Ireland. After 1801 George III was styled "King of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland."
4Oliver and Richard Cromwell served as lords protector of England, Scotland, and Ireland during the republican Commonwealth.
5William and Mary, as husband and wife, reigned jointly until Mary's death in 1694. William then reigned alone until his own death in 1702.
6George IV was regent from February 5, 1811.
7In 1917, during World War I, George V changed the name of his house from Saxe-Coburg-Gotha to Windsor.
8Edward VIII succeeded upon the death of his father, George V, on January 20, 1936, but abdicated on December 11, 1936, before coronation.

Egbert Saxon 802–839

Aethelwulf (Ethelwulf) Saxon 839–856/858

Aethelbald (Ethelbald) Saxon 855/856–860

Aethelberht (Ethelbert) Saxon 860–865/866

Aethelred I (Ethelred) Saxon 865/866–871

Alfred the Great Saxon 871–899

Edward the Elder Saxon 899–924
Sovereigns of England
name dynasty or house reign

Athelstan1 Saxon 925–939

Edmund I Saxon 939–946

Eadred (Edred) Saxon 946–955

Eadwig (Edwy) Saxon 955–959

Edgar Saxon 959–975

Edward the Martyr Saxon 975–978

Ethelred II the Unready (Aethelred) Saxon 978–1013

Sweyn Forkbeard Danish 1013–14

Ethelred II the Unready (restored) Saxon 1014–16

Edmund II Ironside Saxon 1016

Canute Danish 1016–35

Harold I Harefoot Danish 1035–40

Hardecanute Danish 1040–42

Edward the Confessor Saxon 1042–66

Harold II Saxon 1066

William I the Conqueror Norman 1066–87

William II Norman 1087–1100

Henry I Norman 1100–35

Stephen Blois 1135–54

Henry II Plantagenet 1154–89

Richard I Plantagenet 1189–99

John Plantagenet 1199–1216

Henry III Plantagenet 1216–72

Edward I Plantagenet 1272–1307

Edward II Plantagenet 1307–27

Edward III Plantagenet 1327–77

Richard II Plantagenet 1377–99

Henry IV Plantagenet: Lancaster 1399–1413

Henry V Plantagenet: Lancaster 1413–22

Henry VI Plantagenet: Lancaster 1422–61

Edward IV Plantagenet: York 1461–70

Henry VI (restored) Plantagenet: Lancaster 1470–71

Edward IV (restored) Plantagenet: York 1471–83

Edward V Plantagenet: York 1483

Richard III Plantagenet: York 1483–85

Henry VII Tudor 1485–1509

Henry VIII Tudor 1509–47

Edward VI Tudor 1547–53

Mary I Tudor 1553–58

Elizabeth I Tudor 1558–1603
Sovereigns of Great Britain and the United Kingdom2, 3
name dynasty or house reign

James I (VI of Scotland)2 Stuart 1603–25

Charles I Stuart 1625–49
Commonwealth (1653–59)

 Oliver Cromwell, Lord Protector4 1653–58

 Richard Cromwell, Lord Protector4 1658–59

Charles II Stuart 1660–85

James II Stuart 1685–88

William III and Mary II5 Orange/Stuart 1689–1702

Anne Stuart 1702–14

George I Hanover 1714–27

George II Hanover 1727–60

George III3 Hanover 1760–1820

George IV6 Hanover 1820–30

William IV Hanover 1830–37

Victoria Hanover 1837–1901

Edward VII Saxe-Coburg-Gotha 1901–10

George V7 Windsor 1910–36

Edward VIII8 Windsor 1936

George VI Windsor 1936–52

Elizabeth II Windsor 1952–2022

Charles III Windsor 2022–

This article was most recently revised and updated by Amy Tikkanen.

List of British Monarchs | Kings and Queens of Britain (2024)
Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Velia Krajcik

Last Updated:

Views: 6482

Rating: 4.3 / 5 (74 voted)

Reviews: 89% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Velia Krajcik

Birthday: 1996-07-27

Address: 520 Balistreri Mount, South Armand, OR 60528

Phone: +466880739437

Job: Future Retail Associate

Hobby: Polo, Scouting, Worldbuilding, Cosplaying, Photography, Rowing, Nordic skating

Introduction: My name is Velia Krajcik, I am a handsome, clean, lucky, gleaming, magnificent, proud, glorious person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.